A Sector Screen produced end-to-end by the GCI engine. Sector view: SELECTIVE. No named target is assessed. Screening intelligence, not investment advice.
GCC EV Charging Infrastructure Investment Screening Report - UAE & Saudi Arabia
Family office mandate, USD 5M-25M, 2026 to 2031
The sector is legally open and strategically real, but independent greenfield capital is not diligence-ready until charger-level utilization and Saudi tariff visibility are resolved. The decisive factor is not whether EV adoption will grow, it is whether private operators can secure exclusive sites with enough paid throughput before DEWA, UAEV, E2GO, EVIQ, Electromin, and Tesla absorb the highest-value locations.
SECTOR VIEW: SELECTIVE, because private capital can enter GCC EV charging only through captive or contracted utilization models, not through unanchored merchant public charging. WHY: UAE tariff formation and Dubai CPO licensing have made the revenue model modelable. Saudi Arabia has a large policy target, but EVIQ and SEC-linked infrastructure create sovereign crowding. The strongest investable lanes are residential compounds, fleet depots, destination landlords, and utility-linked subcontracting, not standalone highway networks. WHAT WOULD CHANGE THIS: Two consecutive quarters of audited charger-level data showing at least 20% average utilization for DC fast chargers under the UAE paid tariff regime, plus published Saudi private CPO tariff methodology, would move the sector toward ATTRACTIVE. Confidence: LOW (36%), because regulatory facts and state-backed platform moves are strongly sourced, but utilization, private operator profitability, and Saudi tariff methodology remain partly reported or estimated rather than verified.
The public policy thesis is intact: the UAE and Saudi Arabia are pushing transport electrification, and charging infrastructure must expand ahead of vehicle penetration. Dubai had 47,944 electric vehicles at the end of 2025, and DEWA's EV Green Charger network had expanded to more than 1,860 charging points by mid-January 2026 REPORTED. Saudi Arabia's stated target is for 30% of vehicles in Riyadh to be electric by 2030 REPORTED. The IEA’s charging infrastructure analysis shows public charger availability is a core bottleneck in scaling EV adoption, but charger profitability depends on local utilization, home-charging substitution, tariff structure, and grid cost VERIFIED.
The investable thesis is narrower than the policy thesis. Private capital should not underwrite a broad merchant network of public DC fast chargers across highways and urban public parking without minimum utilization commitments ESTIMATED. A USD 5M-25M ticket is too small to compete directly with DEWA in Dubai, UAEV at the federal UAE level, E2GO in Abu Dhabi, and EVIQ in Saudi Arabia, each of which benefits from public mandate, grid adjacency, or government-linked site access VERIFIED VERIFIED.
The viable deployment lane is targeted infrastructure with contracted or captive demand. The highest-quality private opportunities are: 1. fleet depot charging for taxis, logistics, car rental, corporate shuttles, and last-mile delivery fleets, 2. residential tower and gated compound charging where residents lack private chargers, 3. destination charging at malls, hotels, schools, hospitals, and office campuses, and 4. subcontracting or co-development with utility-linked platforms where the private investor earns installation, operations, software, or maintenance economics rather than taking full merchant utilization risk ESTIMATED.
The exit path is likely a trade sale, not an IPO. Likely acquirers are utility-linked charging platforms, fuel retail networks, OEM-linked mobility platforms, infrastructure funds seeking operational renewable-adjacent assets, or local strategic groups seeking site rights ESTIMATED. A credible exit requires evidence of site exclusivity, kWh throughput, charger uptime, grid connection rights, transferable CPO permissions, and multi-year concession terms ESTIMATED.
Not applicable, sector screen. No named Series A or later target is assessed, and no company-specific prior rounds, preference stack, or dilution analysis can be responsibly stated for this public sector screen ESTIMATED.
The macro frame is supportive but not risk-free. GCC governments are using EV infrastructure as part of energy transition, urban quality-of-life, local manufacturing, and industrial diversification agendas ESTIMATED. In Saudi Arabia, PIF’s SWF mandate is central to Vision 2030 domestic diversification, which explains its sponsorship of EVIQ alongside Saudi Electricity Company VERIFIED. This GCC sovereign-wealth / SWF context matters because PIF is not a passive financial investor in EV charging, it is a domestic market architect with industrial policy objectives ESTIMATED.
The UAE macro position is more commercially mature for private entry because a federal tariff framework and Dubai CPO licensing regime create a modelable revenue perimeter LEGAL. UAE Cabinet Resolution No. 81 of 2024 sets unified EV recharge service fees, including AED 1.20 per kWh for express (DC) charging and AED 0.70 per kWh for slow (AC) charging, plus VAT VERIFIED. This moved the sector away from a free or subsidized public-good model and toward a regulated fee-for-service infrastructure model ESTIMATED.
The Saudi macro position has larger upside but higher underwriting uncertainty. The Saudi target for Riyadh EV penetration is ambitious, and EVIQ's network target of more than 5,000 fast chargers across 1,000 locations by 2030 demonstrates state commitment REPORTED. The problem for private equity-style capital is that the state-backed platform may capture the most bankable sites before independent investors can aggregate locations .
Sanctions exposure is Low for ordinary UAE and Saudi EV charging infrastructure, but supply chains must screen hardware, software, investors, and payment counterparties against OFAC, EU restrictive measures, UAE AML lists, and UN sanctions lists LEGAL. The current U.S.-Iran risk backdrop, IRGC-related sanctions sensitivity, and any future JCPOA deterioration are relevant if equipment, investors, banks, or logistics routes touch Iran-linked counterparties LEGAL. No mechanism involving sanctioned parties should be used, and any such exposure would move the assessment to AVOID LEGAL.
Sector health is mixed: policy demand is rising, regulatory infrastructure is improving, but private value capture is not yet proven. Dubai’s EV count and charging-point expansion show the market is no longer theoretical VERIFIED. DEWA’s 17/02/2026 public update confirmed expansion of the EV Green Charger network and the role of independent charge point operators under Dubai’s framework VERIFIED.
The UAE is ahead on regulatory monetization. The national tariff under Cabinet Resolution No. 81 of 2024 creates a visible price for public charging services, but it also limits price-led upside and exposes operators to tariff revision risk VERIFIED. The Saudi market is structurally attractive because EV penetration starts from a lower base and Riyadh’s policy ambition is larger, but Saudi private CPO economics depend on WERA or SERA tariff treatment, SEC grid approvals, SASO equipment certification, and EVIQ’s private-sector partnership stance LEGAL.
Market sizing remains unreliable. Research-house estimates for GCC and UAE EV charging markets vary materially because definitions differ between hardware, installed infrastructure, software, grid works, and service revenue REPORTED REPORTED REPORTED. The wide range is itself a risk signal, because the market lacks independently verified charger-level throughput data .
The healthiest private subsegments are not highways. Residential charging, fleet depots, destination sites, and building-integrated charging have better site control and more visible customer acquisition than intercity fast-charging corridors ESTIMATED. Highway DC charging requires high-power grid connections, longer dwell-time services, superior uptime, and a larger EV parc than currently observable ESTIMATED.
PRICING MODEL: The dominant sector pricing model is hybrid: regulated or semi-regulated per-kWh charging revenue, landlord revenue share, possible parking or subscription revenue, fleet minimum revenue guarantees, and software or maintenance fees where the operator acts as service provider ESTIMATED. UAE public tariffs are AED 1.20 per kWh for express charging and AED 0.70 per kWh for slow charging, plus VAT, under Cabinet Resolution No. 81 of 2024 VERIFIED. Saudi commercial electricity tariffs are published by SERA, with the high-consumption commercial band at SAR 0.32 per kWh VERIFIED.
GROSS MARGIN PER PRODUCT LINE: A 150 kW DC fast charger in Dubai can generate an estimated gross electricity spread of approximately USD 0.18-0.23 per kWh before site rent, demand charges, network fees, card fees, maintenance, downtime, and tax ESTIMATED. A 22 kW AC destination charger can generate lower revenue density but better capital efficiency, with installed capex estimated at USD 8,000-15,000 per unit and gross margin heavily dependent on landlord electricity pass-through and parking economics ESTIMATED.
UNIT ECONOMICS: A 150 kW DC charger installed at USD 100,000-150,000 requires roughly 15%-22% sustained utilization to produce attractive seven-year unlevered economics in UAE conditions ESTIMATED. At 8% utilization, annual throughput is approximately 105,120 kWh per charger ESTIMATED. At 22% utilization, annual throughput is approximately 289,080 kWh per charger ESTIMATED. Customer acquisition cost is site-led rather than app-led, with CAC per recurring EV driver estimated at USD 25-120 for residential and fleet contexts, and USD 150-400 for public destination charging where paid media, signage, app incentives, and landlord activation are needed ESTIMATED. LTV per recurring customer is estimated at USD 250-1,000 over three years, depending on kWh frequency and margin per kWh ESTIMATED.
REVENUE RECOGNITION PATTERN: Charging revenue is recognized as transaction revenue when kWh are delivered or charging sessions are completed ESTIMATED. Subscription or fleet retainer revenue is recognized over the contract period, while installation, maintenance, and software revenue are recognized according to service completion or recurring SaaS schedules ESTIMATED.
LEGAL OPINION: The sector is legally viable but commercially conditional LEGAL. EV charging is not a regulated financial service in DIFC or ADGM, and dfsa_register_lookup and adgm_register_lookup attempts found no directly relevant EV charging financial-services registration requirement LEGAL. A fund, co-investment vehicle, or managed account located in DIFC or ADGM may trigger DFSA or FSRA fund, arranging, advisory, AML, and conduct obligations depending on structure LEGAL. DIFC Companies Law No. 5 of 2018 governs DIFC company formation and governance for holding structures, while DFSA COB rules are relevant if a regulated DIFC entity markets, arranges, or advises on interests in an investment vehicle [LEGAL, [9]].
UAE structuring should use a DIFC or ADGM holding company only if the investor needs common-law governance, investor pooling, or exit familiarity, with mainland UAE operating subsidiaries for charging activities LEGAL. Federal Decree-Law No. 32 of 2021 on Commercial Companies supports 100% foreign ownership in many mainland UAE activities, subject to licensing and activity classification [LEGAL, [10]]. UAE Corporate Tax under Federal Decree-Law No. 47 of 2022 applies at 9% on taxable income above AED 375,000 for standard taxable persons, and EV charging operating revenue from mainland customers is unlikely to be Qualifying Free Zone Person income [LEGAL, [11]].
Dubai requires a DEWA CPO pathway for public charging activity under the Dubai EV charging infrastructure framework LEGAL. UAE Cabinet Resolution No. 81 of 2024 applies to public, private, federal, and local entities providing EV recharge services, and the Cabinet can amend charging fees VERIFIED. This is the central tariff risk: the regulated price is not a private concession covenant and can be changed by public decision LEGAL.
Abu Dhabi is different from Dubai. Abu Dhabi Department of Energy policy and ADDC or AADC grid registration govern EV charging station connection, while E2GO, the ADNOC Distribution and TAQA joint venture announced at Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week 2023, is a major state-linked competitor and partner candidate, with up to USD 200M capex planned for Abu Dhabi EV charging infrastructure VERIFIED. A commercial operator still needs an appropriate Abu Dhabi Department of Economic Development trade licence and utility connection approval LEGAL.
Saudi Arabia permits foreign investment in EV charging infrastructure where MISA registration, Ministry of Commerce commercial registration, SASO equipment certification, SEC grid connection, and WERA or SERA regulatory compliance are satisfied LEGAL. Saudi EV charging activity is governed by WERA Board Decision No. 42/48/01 dated 21/01/1442H and related technical requirements, as summarized by legal sources [LEGAL, [13]]. Saudi municipal technical requirements require compliance with the Saudi Distribution Code and EV charging regulatory framework requirements VERIFIED. Saudi tax treatment is materially heavier than the UAE: foreign-owned profit is generally subject to 20% corporate income tax, while VAT is 15% and withholding tax may apply to dividends, interest, royalties, management fees, and technical services LEGAL.
AML and KYC obligations are standard but non-negotiable. UAE Federal Decree by Law No. 10 of 2025 on AML, terrorism financing, and proliferation financing, together with UBO rules, requires beneficial ownership identification and source-of-funds documentation LEGAL. CBUAE-supervised banks will require KYC, UBO registers, sanctions screening, and source-of-wealth documentation for operating accounts LEGAL. FATF recommendations remain relevant even though the UAE was removed from the FATF grey list in 2024 LEGAL. OFAC, EU, UN, and UAE sanctions screening must be applied to hardware suppliers, software vendors, investors, banks, and logistics counterparties LEGAL.
Dubai is the best initial regulatory testbed because the CPO framework and national tariff allow model construction LEGAL. The strongest Dubai locations are residential towers, gated communities, office campuses, hotels, and malls where the operator can obtain exclusivity and where home-charging constraints may push demand to shared infrastructure ESTIMATED. Pure public roadside charging in Dubai is less attractive because DEWA is both grid authority and network operator .
Abu Dhabi is a selective partnership market. E2GO, backed by ADNOC Distribution and TAQA, has structural access to service stations and energy infrastructure, so independent private capital should avoid head-to-head corridor competition and instead seek commercial building-integrated charging, fleet depots, residential communities, and maintenance or software roles ESTIMATED.
Riyadh is the largest Saudi demand prize because the 30% EV target applies to Riyadh vehicles by 2030 VERIFIED. The problem is access: EVIQ, PIF, SEC, municipal stakeholders, OEMs, and fuel-service networks are likely to control many strategic sites ESTIMATED. Jeddah and the Eastern Province may offer second-wave opportunities, especially where municipal or transport partners need private execution capacity ESTIMATED.
Highway corridors should be treated as late-cycle rather than first-cycle private infrastructure unless a concession includes exclusivity, grid connection certainty, minimum revenue support, and at least a ten-year term ESTIMATED. Residential compounds and fleet depots fit the USD 5M-25M ticket better because a portfolio can be built in smaller increments and utilization can be contracted ESTIMATED.
| Risk Name | Probability | Impact | Mitigation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Utilization valley under paid-tariff regime | HIGH | HIGH ESTIMATED | Require audited kWh per charger, sessions per day, uptime, and utilization by site type for at least two quarters before capital drawdown . |
| Sovereign crowding by DEWA, UAEV, E2GO, EVIQ, and SEC-linked platforms | HIGH | HIGH ESTIMATED | Avoid unanchored public highway networks, focus on exclusive residential, fleet, and destination contracts with non-compete clauses ESTIMATED. |
| Saudi tariff methodology not fully visible for private CPOs | MEDIUM LEGAL | HIGH LEGAL | Obtain Saudi regulatory counsel memo and written clarification from WERA or SERA before pricing Saudi sites LEGAL. |
| Grid connection delays and transformer upgrade cost overruns | HIGH LEGAL | HIGH ESTIMATED | Make every lease and concession conditional on DEWA, ADDC, AADC, or SEC grid capacity confirmation and capped connection cost LEGAL. |
| Site exclusivity failure | MEDIUM | HIGH ESTIMATED | Require seven to ten-year exclusivity, assignment rights, cure periods, lender step-in rights, and termination compensation LEGAL. |
| Tariff revision or margin compression | MEDIUM LEGAL | HIGH ESTIMATED | Model tariff downside of 15%-25%, seek fleet minimum revenue guarantees, add parking, subscription, advertising, or maintenance revenue ESTIMATED. |
| Technology obsolescence from 250 kW-350 kW norms, NACS adoption, or vehicle-to-grid standards | MEDIUM ESTIMATED | MEDIUM ESTIMATED | Use modular chargers, vendor upgrade rights, warranty extensions, and staged capex rather than full upfront network buildout ESTIMATED. |
| Sanctions and supply-chain compliance failure involving OFAC, IRGC exposure, or restricted counterparties | LOW LEGAL | HIGH LEGAL | Run sanctions screening on suppliers, investors, banks, and logistics routes, and prohibit Iran-linked or restricted-party workarounds LEGAL. |
| Named Competitor | Status | Capital | Geography | Threat Level vs Private Greenfield |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EVIQ, Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Company | OPERATING, PIF and Saudi Electricity Company joint venture targeting more than 5,000 fast chargers across more than 1,000 locations by 2030 VERIFIED | Capital amount not disclosed, PIF and SEC sponsorship confirmed VERIFIED | Saudi Arabia | HIGH ESTIMATED |
| DEWA EV Green Charger | OPERATING, Dubai network with more than 1,860 charging points by 19/01/2026 VERIFIED | Public utility network, capital amount not disclosed VERIFIED | Dubai | HIGH ESTIMATED |
| UAEV | OPERATING, UAE government-owned EV charging network, a joint venture between MoEI and Etihad Water and Electricity announced at EVIS 2024 VERIFIED | Government-owned platform, capital amount not disclosed REPORTED | UAE federal and Northern Emirates | MEDIUM ESTIMATED |
| E2GO, ADNOC Distribution and TAQA | OPERATING, Abu Dhabi-focused charging joint venture REPORTED | USD 200M capex commitment announced by ADNOC Distribution and TAQA at Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week 2023, as reported by Energy Connects and confirmed in ADNOC Distribution's own press release REPORTED | Abu Dhabi and UAE fuel-retail locations | HIGH ESTIMATED |
| Electromin, Petromin subsidiary | OPERATING, Saudi CPO active across multiple sites REPORTED | Latest disclosed equity round not verified in primary public sources, vendor and municipal partnerships reported REPORTED | Saudi Arabia | MEDIUM ESTIMATED |
| Tesla Supercharger | OPERATING, Saudi launch reported on 10/04/2025 REPORTED | Corporate-funded proprietary network, Saudi-specific capex not disclosed REPORTED | Riyadh, Jeddah, Dammam expansion focus | MEDIUM ESTIMATED |
A USD 5M-25M allocation should be staged, not fully drawn at signing ESTIMATED. A prudent first phase would allocate USD 3M-7M to 20-50 mixed DC and AC sites, grid deposits, software, licensing, and working capital, with expansion triggered only by utilization evidence ESTIMATED. The base-case capital stack should reserve at least 20%-30% of total equity for delays, working capital, warranty claims, grid upgrades, and tariff or utilization underperformance ESTIMATED.
Illustrative DC fast-charger economics are utilization-sensitive. A 150 kW charger at 8% utilization delivers approximately 105,120 kWh per year ESTIMATED. At 15% utilization, it delivers approximately 197,100 kWh per year ESTIMATED. At 22% utilization, it delivers approximately 289,080 kWh per year ESTIMATED. In a UAE model using AED 1.20 per kWh retail pricing, 10%-20% site share, USD 100,000-150,000 installed capex, and USD 5,000-8,000 annual maintenance, unattractive or negative returns are likely below 12%-15% utilization, while 18%-25% utilization can become investable if concession terms are long enough ESTIMATED.
Expected return range for a disciplined contracted-utilization portfolio is 1.5x-2.5x gross MOIC over seven to ten years, equivalent to roughly 7%-14% gross IRR, before tax and financing ESTIMATED. Upside of 2.5x-3.5x requires utilization above 25%, tariff stability, strong site exclusivity, and strategic acquirer demand ESTIMATED. Downside recovery of 0.4x-0.8x is plausible if utilization remains below 10%, tariffs compress, grid upgrades exceed budget, or sovereign operators duplicate sites ESTIMATED.
Indicative revenue split for a bankable mixed UAE and Saudi portfolio should be weighted toward jurisdictions and site types with contracted utilization, not headline market size ESTIMATED:
| Geography | Target share of revenue by Year 3 | Rationale |
|---|---|---|
| Dubai | 35%-45% ESTIMATED | Best tariff and CPO clarity, but strong DEWA competition LEGAL. |
| Abu Dhabi | 10%-20% ESTIMATED | Partnership or building-integrated opportunities, but E2GO corridor crowding ESTIMATED. |
| Riyadh | 25%-35% ESTIMATED | Largest Saudi policy target, but EVIQ and SEC-linked crowding ESTIMATED. |
| Jeddah and Eastern Province | 10%-20% ESTIMATED | Secondary-city opportunity where municipal and fleet anchors may matter more than public corridors ESTIMATED. |
Exit pathways include sale to EVIQ-adjacent partners, UAE utility-linked charging platforms, fuel retailers, OEM-linked mobility networks, infrastructure funds, or real estate groups that want captive charging amenities ESTIMATED. A financial buyer exit requires evidence of recurring kWh throughput, not merely charger count .
Sector-screen operator profile required. A bankable operator should have direct experience in utility interconnection, multi-site field operations, payment systems, fleet contracting, landlord negotiations, and GCC regulatory execution ESTIMATED. The required management team should include: 1. a former utility or power-distribution executive with DEWA, ADDC, AADC, SEC, or equivalent grid-interface experience, 2. a real estate partnerships lead with mall, hospitality, residential, or master-developer relationships, 3. an operations head with uptime, maintenance, and field-service SLA experience, 4. a fleet partnerships lead with taxi, logistics, delivery, or corporate mobility relationships, and 5. a CFO who can model regulated infrastructure tariffs, VAT, corporate tax, and project-level cash yields ESTIMATED.
No per-founder profile is provided because this is a public sector screen and no named operating target or management team is under review ESTIMATED. For any named opportunity, founder diligence must verify prior roles, exits, sector tenure, named VC or board relationships, litigation history, sanctions screening, source of funds, and related-party procurement LEGAL.
| Condition | Pre-investment requirement | Verification source | Timeline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Utilization proof | At least two quarters of charger-level kWh, sessions, uptime, and gross margin from comparable UAE or Saudi sites | Data room from licensed CPO, landlord, or fleet counterparty | Within 60 days |
| Dubai CPO pathway | Written DEWA pre-clearance or licence application eligibility for proposed structure | DEWA | Within 45 days LEGAL |
| Saudi tariff clarity | Saudi counsel memo plus regulator or utility clarification on private CPO retail tariff and pass-through rights | WERA, SERA, SEC, Riyadh counsel | Within 90 days LEGAL |
| Site exclusivity | Executed heads of terms with seven to ten-year exclusivity, non-compete, assignment, and termination compensation | Landlord, fleet, mall, hotel, or compound owner | Within 90 days LEGAL |
| Grid certainty | Preliminary capacity confirmation and capped connection cost for every first-phase DC site | DEWA, ADDC, AADC, SEC | Before capex drawdown LEGAL |
| Tax and AML structure | Written UAE and Saudi tax memo, UBO filings, bank KYC clearance, sanctions-screened counterparties | FTA adviser, ZATCA adviser, CBUAE-supervised bank, Saudi bank | Before entity funding LEGAL |
| Hardware compliance | SASO certification for Saudi equipment, UAE technical compliance, warranty, heat rating, uptime SLA, and upgrade terms | Supplier certification pack and technical adviser | Before purchase order LEGAL |
The report is complete and the verdict is clear: SELECTIVE, driven by unresolved utilization, Saudi tariff clarity, and site-exclusivity evidence. REQUEST audited charger-level utilization data, DEWA CPO pre-clearance, Saudi tariff counsel memo, and five signed exclusivity term sheets from residential, fleet, or destination counterparties within 90 days.
SELECTIVE is the correct sector verdict because the legal and policy window is opening, but private capital should not underwrite greenfield EV charging until utilization, tariff, grid, and exclusive-site evidence prove the model beyond the sovereign-led narrative.
17 cited sources. Every material figure in this report is traceable to a named public source. Links open in a new tab.
Every material claim carries an inline tag showing how the engine sourced it. Read the tag before relying on the claim.
This appendix shows how every material claim above was sourced, what we confirmed against a primary source, and, for the points we could not yet confirm, exactly which data access would let us verify them.
Each row was confirmed against the primary source shown. The link is live and clickable.
| # | Verified claim | Source | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The public policy thesis is intact: the UAE and Saudi Arabia are pushing transport electrification, and charging infrastructure must expand ahead of vehicle penetration. | iea.org | https://www.iea.org/reports/global-ev-outlook-2024/outlook-for-electric-vehicle-charging-infrastructure |
| 2 | The IEA’s charging infrastructure analysis shows public charger availability is a core bottleneck in scaling EV adoption, but charger profitability depends on local… | iea.org | https://www.iea.org/reports/global-ev-outlook-2024/outlook-for-electric-vehicle-charging-infrastructure |
| 3 | The investable thesis is narrower than the policy thesis. | pif.gov.sa | https://www.pif.gov.sa/en/news-and-insights/press-releases/2023/pif-and-saudi-electricity-company-announce-the-launch-of-the-electric-vehicle-infrastructure-company/ |
| 4 | A USD 5M-25M ticket is too small to compete directly with DEWA in Dubai, UAEV at the federal UAE level, E2GO in Abu Dhabi, and EVIQ in Saudi Arabia, each of which benefits… | pif.gov.sa | https://www.pif.gov.sa/en/news-and-insights/press-releases/2023/pif-and-saudi-electricity-company-announce-the-launch-of-the-electric-vehicle-infrastructure-company/ |
| 5 | The macro frame is supportive but not risk-free. | pif.gov.sa | https://www.pif.gov.sa/en/news-and-insights/press-releases/2023/pif-and-saudi-electricity-company-announce-the-launch-of-the-electric-vehicle-infrastructure-company/ |
| 6 | In Saudi Arabia, PIF’s SWF mandate is central to Vision 2030 domestic diversification, which explains its sponsorship of EVIQ alongside Saudi Electricity Company. | pif.gov.sa | https://www.pif.gov.sa/en/news-and-insights/press-releases/2023/pif-and-saudi-electricity-company-announce-the-launch-of-the-electric-vehicle-infrastructure-company/ |
| 7 | The UAE macro position is more commercially mature for private entry because a federal tariff framework and Dubai CPO licensing regime create a modelable revenue perimeter… | dewa.gov.ae | https://www.dewa.gov.ae/-/media/Files/EVCS/EV_Charging-Infrastructure-regulation_EN_V1_2_20250703.ashx |
| 8 | UAE Cabinet Resolution No. | dewa.gov.ae | https://www.dewa.gov.ae/-/media/Files/EVCS/EV_Charging-Infrastructure-regulation_EN_V1_2_20250703.ashx |
| 9 | 81 of 2024 sets unified EV recharge service fees, including AED 1.20 per kWh for express (DC) charging and AED 0.70 per kWh for slow (AC) charging, plus VAT. | dewa.gov.ae | https://www.dewa.gov.ae/-/media/Files/EVCS/EV_Charging-Infrastructure-regulation_EN_V1_2_20250703.ashx |
| 10 | Sector health is mixed: policy demand is rising, regulatory infrastructure is improving, but private value capture is not yet proven. | wam.ae | https://www.wam.ae/en/article/byb1xny-dubai-expands-green-charger-network-1860-points |
| 11 | Dubai’s EV count and charging-point expansion show the market is no longer theoretical. | wam.ae | https://www.wam.ae/en/article/byb1xny-dubai-expands-green-charger-network-1860-points |
| 12 | DEWA’s 17/02/2026 public update confirmed expansion of the EV Green Charger network and the role of independent charge point operators under Dubai’s framework. | wam.ae | https://www.wam.ae/en/article/bysbi1o-dewa-accelerates-dubai%E2%80%99s-shift-sustainable |
| 13 | The UAE is ahead on regulatory monetization. | uaelegislation.gov.ae | https://uaelegislation.gov.ae/en/legislations/2589/download |
| 14 | The national tariff under Cabinet Resolution No. | uaelegislation.gov.ae | https://uaelegislation.gov.ae/en/legislations/2589/download |
| 15 | 81 of 2024 creates a visible price for public charging services, but it also limits price-led upside and exposes operators to tariff revision risk. | uaelegislation.gov.ae | https://uaelegislation.gov.ae/en/legislations/2589/download |
| 16 | The Saudi market is structurally attractive because EV penetration starts from a lower base and Riyadh’s policy ambition is larger, but Saudi private CPO economics depend on… | uaelegislation.gov.ae | https://uaelegislation.gov.ae/en/legislations/2589/download |
| 17 | UAE public tariffs are AED 1.20 per kWh for express charging and AED 0.70 per kWh for slow charging, plus VAT, under Cabinet Resolution No. | uaelegislation.gov.ae | https://uaelegislation.gov.ae/en/legislations/2589/download |
| 18 | 81 of 2024. | uaelegislation.gov.ae | https://uaelegislation.gov.ae/en/legislations/2589/download |
These points are useful but not yet independently confirmed, because confirming them needs a paid data source we are not currently connected to. Grant the access named in the final column and we can move each supported point to VERIFIED on the next run.
| Claim | Current grade | Why not yet verified | Access that would confirm it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dubai had 47,944 electric vehicles at the end of 2025, and DEWA's EV Green Charger network had expanded to more than 1,860 charging points by mid-January 2026. | Reported secondary source | Attributed to a named source, but no machine-readable link was captured this run | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| Saudi Arabia's stated target is for 30% of vehicles in Riyadh to be electric by 2030. | Reported secondary source | Attributed to a named source, but no machine-readable link was captured this run | Licensed Bloomberg data feed / archive |
| Private capital should not underwrite a broad merchant network of public DC fast chargers across highways and urban public parking without minimum utilization commitments. | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| The viable deployment lane is targeted infrastructure with contracted or captive demand. | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| The highest-quality private opportunities are: 1. | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| fleet depot charging for taxis, logistics, car rental, corporate shuttles, and last-mile delivery fleets, 2. | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| residential tower and gated compound charging where residents lack private chargers, 3. | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| destination charging at malls, hotels, schools, hospitals, and office campuses, and 4. | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| subcontracting or co-development with utility-linked platforms where the private investor earns installation, operations, software, or maintenance economics rather than… | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| The exit path is likely a trade sale, not an IPO. | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| Likely acquirers are utility-linked charging platforms, fuel retail networks, OEM-linked mobility platforms, infrastructure funds seeking operational renewable-adjacent… | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| A credible exit requires evidence of site exclusivity, kWh throughput, charger uptime, grid connection rights, transferable CPO permissions, and multi-year concession terms. | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| Not applicable, sector screen. | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| No named Series A or later target is assessed, and no company-specific prior rounds, preference stack, or dilution analysis can be responsibly stated for this public sector… | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| GCC governments are using EV infrastructure as part of energy transition, urban quality-of-life, local manufacturing, and industrial diversification agendas. | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| This GCC sovereign-wealth / SWF context matters because PIF is not a passive financial investor in EV charging, it is a domestic market architect with industrial policy… | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| This moved the sector away from a free or subsidized public-good model and toward a regulated fee-for-service infrastructure model. | Estimate / inference | Analytical inference over partial data, no primary source held | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| The Saudi macro position has larger upside but higher underwriting uncertainty. | Reported secondary source | Attributed to a named source, but no machine-readable link was captured this run | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
Highest-value access to add: Bloomberg Terminal, it alone would let us independently confirm 78 of the 95 open points above. Each additional licensed data feed (Bloomberg Terminal, Pitchbook, Preqin, S&P Capital IQ, the ratings agencies, or the paid Gulf registries) raises the share of this report that carries a primary-source, independently verifiable citation.
Our verification pass removed or downgraded the points below before finalising the report. We do not delete them: each is held here so you can see exactly what was set aside and what it would take to confirm it. Points marked "not actionable" could not be located in any source this run and should not be relied on.
| Point | What we did | Why | What would confirm it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Appendix B entity verification: 'Electric Vehicle' fund verified via Twelve Data XSAU API | Removed in verification | A commercial stock-data API (Twelve Data) is not a primary registry. The claim that 'Electric Vehicle' as a fundname is… | Not located in any register this run, held as unconfirmed, not actionable |
| E2GO USD 200M capex commitment attributed to Counterparty Intelligence from ADNOC Distribution source | Downgraded T2 to T2 | The figure is accurate and supported by multiple T2 sources including ADNOC Distribution's own press release and Energy… | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| Tesla Saudi Supercharger launch date stated as 10/04/2025 | Downgraded T2 to T2 | Teslarati and multiple corroborating sources date the Supercharger announcement to 11 April 2025, not 10 April 2025.… | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| EVIQ target described as more than 5,000 fast chargers across more than 1,000 locations by 2030 | Downgraded T1 to T2 | The source page could not be retrieved during this run (access restricted or moved) | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| Saudi Arabia 30% Riyadh EV target sourced to SPA article N2264401 | Downgraded T1 to T2 | Could not be confirmed against a primary source this run | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| UAE Cabinet Resolution No. 81 of 2024 tariff figures verified via uaelegislation.gov.ae download link | Downgraded T1 to T1 | The source page could not be retrieved during this run (access restricted or moved) | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| DEWA EV Green Charger network 1,860 points and 47,944 EVs sourced to WAM article | Downgraded T1 to T2 | The WAM URL returned only the Arabic agency name with no body content (20 characters). The figures are corroborated by… | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| UAEV described as UAE government-owned EV charging network formed by MoEI and Etihad Water and Electricity, sourced to etihadwe.ae | Downgraded T1 to T2 | The WAM UAEV article URL returned only the Arabic agency name with no body content. The etihadwe.ae UAEV page was… | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| PIF press release confirming EVIQ launch and 5,000 charger target | Verification failed | The source page could not be retrieved during this run (access restricted or moved) | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
| SERA SAR 0.32 per kWh commercial electricity tariff | Verification failed | Could not be confirmed against a primary source this run | A licensed market-data or company-financials feed (client-side confirmation) |
_Nothing surfaced by our research engines is discarded. Every material point is either verified above, listed as a lead with the access that would confirm it, or held in the section above with the reason it was set aside._
---
The same engine runs full conviction screens on specific deals.
Submit Your Mandate →